The Fest, The Comp and More…

OK folks. I know. I got lazy on everyone. Or so it would seem. The past couple of months have been insane for me in my home life and more, so I do hope that you all will forgive the month of no updates. I truly did not get lazy, believe it or not. I have been insanely busy with a ton of shit such as cancer surgery (not mine, but I was back and forth to the hospital for a full 25 days [Get well, Bobby! You are doing great so far!]), playing scads of Brutesquad shows, band practice, home life and work. I’ve been on the ropes, but I’ve always been a busy bastard with way too many irons in the fire. I do hope you will all forgive me. There IS an update coming, I swear to you.

In the meantime, I want to take this time to promote two very special items that I have been working feverishly on. The first is the First Annual Crucible Metal / Hardcore Fest! It is being held on Friday April 9th, at Skrappy’s in Tucson, AZ, and is a benefit show. Here is what is going on – My future stepson, Ryan McGraw has been accepted into a youth ambassadorship in Europe for an organization called People To People. It is a highly prestigious honor to be accepted into this ambassadorship, as it will help lay the groundwork for his college education. The only problem is the out of pocket expense. His mom and I simply don’t have the money to pay in full to get this done. So I came up with the idea of putting on this fest, with 100% of the proceeds going directly towards the cost of the trip. I started talking to bands and Kathy from Skrappy’s and set the damn thing up. 5 bands will play this year’s fest – Victory By Treason (Ryan’s own band), Thou Art Dead (Lethal tucson death metal), Skeletal Secrets (Close personal friends, and a damned good band from Phoenix, AZ), our own January Spotlight band Six Million Dead (Read all about them in the January Band Spotlight), and my fulltime band, Brutesquad. Everyone has been absolutely wonderful in doing this thing and donating their time to help raise some money for this cause. Thanks to all involved!

So with the Fest looming in the future, I decided that Crucible Zine needed some promo material. Hence, I put together Crucible Zine Compilation Number One. Featuring 11 tracks of bands directly involved with the zine in some form or fashion. I have either reviewed / interviewed them for the zine, or they have direct ties to Crucible. The band list is as follows:

Nightscape – Tucson, AZ – Death Metal – My personal solo project
Ruines Ov Abaddon – San Diego, CA – Black Metal – Reviewed in the January update
Six Million Dead – Phoenix, AZ – Death / Black Metal – Band Spotlight, January update
Brutesquad – Tucson, AZ – Metallic Hardcore – My full time band
Ecryptus – Atlanta, GA – Death Metal – Reviewed in the January update
Skeletal Secrets – Phoenix, AZ – Modern Metal with Death Metal influences – Close personal friends
Sinstorm – Los Angeles, CA – Black Metal – Reviewed in the January update
Ripchain – Boise, ID – Thrash / Death Metal – Reviewed in the January update
Victory By Treason – Tucson, AZ – Melodic Metal with Metalcore influence – My future stepson, Ryan’s band
Sacrificial Slaughter – Riverside, CA – Death Metal – Reviewed in the January update
Ichabod Crane – Akron, OH – Death Metal with Metalcore and Rock influence – Band Spotlight, February update

This comp is fully packaged and will be released on April 9, 2010 at the fest. It will also be set out for free at every Brutesquad show, or anywhere Crucible Zine will have a presence. If you are nowhere near Tucson, AZ and would like a comp, hit me up at cruciblezine@yahoo.com and I will send you a digital copy with all tracks in mp3 format and all artwork. Check out the front cover…

So, that’s the scoop! Still to come – I do have another update on the way. This one WILL have the interview I did with Rick Rozz (Ex-Death and Massacre), it WILL have a scad of reviews (VTT, Cessation of Life, Master, Salem, 16, Evil Army, Animus Divine and many more), it WILL have my Crypt write up on the mighty Carcass, and more! Keep your eyes peeled.

~ by cruciblezine on March 18, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
